Day 1. The Whole30.

It’s Day 1, and I’m nursing a champagne hangover. For the first time in ten years, I slept ungodly late. 1PM! It was blissful and I have zero guilt. Then hub and I binge-watched travel shows to get inspired for the trip to Eastern Europe and Israel we’re taking in September. Somewhere between all of that, I ate this: Arugula, Tessemae’s All-Natural Lemon Garlic Dressing, Brat Hans Mild Italian Chicken Sausageand an Applegate Farms Uncured Beef Hot Dog

#acolorstory.jpg

I know. RANDOM. But there’s method to my madness. Two years ago, I completed a Whole30 in January. For those of you who are all ??? right now, it’s an elimination diet where you cut out all alcohol, grains, sugar, dairy, legumes, and soy. In their own words, “Think of it as a short-term nutritional reset, designed to help you put an end to unhealthy cravings and habits, restore a healthy metabolism, heal your digestive tract, and balance your immune system.” It may sound like the perfect path to weight loss. But that’s not the end goal here. While Whole30 quotes that over 95% of participants lose weight, they also tout other benefits like “consistently high energy levels, improved athletic performance, better sleep, improved focus and mental clarity, and a sunnier disposition.”

Let’s pause there. Improved mental clarity! Yes! Two years ago, after a full 30 days, my mind was clearer than it had been in years. So I knew I had to do another one as part of my Clarity Project. (Although I’m seriously contemplating eating soy this year….)

Rewind to the random mix of randomness that I called lunch. When I went into the fridge today to start Day 1 of Whole30, I realized that, alas, I had not gone Whole30 shopping. The fridge was packed with champagne, cottage cheese, greek yogurt, and leftover pizza. There wasn’t even an egg to be found. So what else is a girl to do? This bowl was entirely Whole30-compliant. A surprisingly satisfying start.

But just so we avoid having to repeat this meal every day for 30 days, I’m off to Whole Foods now to stock up on Whole30-approved eats, plus a few foods people swear boost their brainpower. More on that later…

Leave a Reply

